Bald Day

by

Ai yi yi. The semester is almost at an end, I can hardly believe it. So much has happened and I will be sure to tell you all about it.

But first, a few readers have been asking me about Bald Day, so I thought I’d dedicate this blog to one of Gallaudet’s traditions: Bald Day.

What is Bald Day? It’s an event, usually in the first week or so of February, where freshmen students shave their heads. That’s basically it.

Each class, such as the Class of 2013, 2012, and so on, compares the number of students who shave their head, with the ultimate goal being bragging rights. The class with the most bald students is deemed as the class with the most school spirit.

Of course, it isn’t mandatory, those who don’t wish to shave their heads are left alone. It’s definitely a matter of personal choice.

Bald Day is a cross between an official tradition and an unofficial tradition since it has been around for a while, but only recently has the University come to host Bald Day on campus.

In the past, students would have to go to houses off campus, and, well… chaos would ensue. These events turned into massive parties that got people into trouble and it generally wasn’t safe for anyone. So, to ensure the safety of its students, Gally has come to host the event on campus with plenty of supervision so things don’t get too chaotic.

I’m not too sure how Bald Day started, there are a lot of rumors of its origins float around. But what I’ve heard is that back in the day, the male college students at Gallaudet University would get lice and would have to shave their heads. So this became a common thing and somehow morphed into a tradition for the men. Then, I think, in the 1970s, female students joined in on the tradition.

In my opinion, it’s an awesome tradition. In the months leading up to Bald Day, the freshmen make it their mission to destroy their hair as much as possible by dying it crazy colors each day and giving each other ridiculous haircuts (mullets were popular this year).

I shaved my head during my freshman year in the spring of 2008. I had heard of Gally’s Bald Day tradition before I arrived here and thought it was cool because it would pretty much be the only time it would be socially acceptable for me to shave my head.

I didn’t dye my hair or cut it, I just lopped it all off one night and it was an amazing feeling. It also does wonders for your self esteem; seeing myself bald, I realized that I am not my hair.

I also discovered I had a nicely shaped head.

So that’s Bald Day. I’ll try to throw in a few other traditions in my future blogs.

Cheers,

Heather

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

