A Little bit about Myself

by

Hello there. My name is Josh Hanna and I am one of the latest bloggers to join gBlog.  I will tell you a little bit about my background and lifestyle growing up.  But first I want to tell you how much of a great experience Gallaudet University has been for me my first year on campus.  The school itself stands out among all the other Universities in the world. it is the only Liberal Arts college out there for the Deaf and Blind.  Many people of different backgrounds come here to get a high quality education and meet new people just like them.  I got to meet a lot of people that have same characteristic as me. And that is being deaf.  This community here at Gallaudet has my my first year experience on campus a moment in my life to remember forever.

To begin, I would like to tell you a little bit about myself.  I was born hard-of-hearing and grew up with a hearing family.  I went to a mainstream school all the way from when i first started school until when i graduated high school.  It was a tough challenge for me in that it was a big school with many students.  But that did not keep me from getting high grades in all my classes.  My family is rich in athletic participation in which everyone grew up playing sports.  I played five sports growing up, but the sport that stood on top of all the others was football.  I love the sport for what it is and have been playing it since I was five years old.

It wasn’t until almost the end of my senior year that i found out about Gallaudet University.  I planned to go to a bigger college where i would continue to mainstream.  Then out of nowhere, the head football coach of Gallaudet contacted me interested in recruiting me to play football for the Bison.  So from there, i went to visit the campus, and something about it just made me fall in love with the university.  I never met a deaf person in my life, and i also didn’t know sign.  Coaches were eager about me attending the University, and i finally made up my mind.  I decided i wanted to become a member of the Deaf community.  I wanted to have the experience of having people just like me attending the same school which i never had growing up.  This is what has my my first year here at Gallaudet a wonderful experience, and I am sure that you will make the same decision as I did.  It will be a moment that you won’t regret, but will cherish for the rest of your life.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

