Off-Season Football!

by

So a disappointing ending to a 5-5 season now leads to an off-season full of dedication, motivation and best of all… a chip on our shoulder. This is what drives teams to their maximum potential during an off-season. Generally in the off-season, our football program will have workouts that consist of working out with weights on Monday, Wednesday and Friday. That’s all we do for the first 3 weeks of spring semester before we introduce SAQ (speed and quickness) training on Tuesdays and Thursdays. Because we are college students, we still have our class duties to attend to. Coach is flexible with his training hours for the players which helps everybody with equal training and the opportunity to fit working out in their schedule. We are given a choice at the beginning of the semester with three different times during the day to workout. The first time is 6:30 in the morning, the next is 3 in the afternoon, and the last is at 5 in the afternoon.

To do something different and show dedication because this is my last year, I picked the 6:30 time slot for my lifting and running. For the first month, the 6:30 time wasn’t too bad but now as I get into the semester deep with mid-terms, homework and tests… it’s a little overwhelming now and hard. Waking up at 6 wasn’t too bad at the bigging in January but now at the end of February i’m finding it extremely difficult to get myself out of bed that early. To help with my energy during the day I switched my time of working out at 5 on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays. Tuesdays and Thursday i’m doing the 6:30 still. This will reduce my stress level and increase at least 3 hours of sleep each day. I’ve been averaging around 4 hours of sleep and night and it’s starting to take a toll on my body. Getting sick is more likely so i’m really trying to get rid of that possibility because of last semester’s strep throat I had during the season.

My max for bench-pressing is 245 pounds. That’s 10 pounds more than my weight! My goal by the time the semester is done is to hit 280. It’s a 35 pound increase in just 2  and a half months but it’s very possible with consistency and hard work. I was at 225 at the beginning of February so I gained 20 pounds in just a month! That’s 5 pounds a week so i’m hoping to keep this trend going. My max for squat is 315 as of now. I’m not a very good squatter but i’m hoping to get 370 by the time summer comes.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

