Playing the Field

by

Hey there. It’s been a while since my last blog, ain’t it? Without further ado, let me dive right in.

I chose my second major–Communication Studies–on a whim. All I knew was that I liked to write and that a major in Communication Studies might add something to that interest/ skill. And it has, it really has.

Last semester I took an introduction to journalism course under one of the coolest professors at Gallaudet–Dr. Heuer– and it opened up the journalism world as a possible career choice for me.

This semester I’m taking more introductory communication studies courses, like public speaking and working in groups. I’m not too keen on presenting in front of people, I can never seem to stop my hands from shaking.  But I can see how this skill is important for the future, especially to prospective employers.

But, still, I have no idea what I want to do with my life. Fortunately, I’ve encountered a lot of people here at Gally who feel the same way. I think internships really help in that area. I haven’t done an internship yet but I am required to do one for my Communication Studies major.  I expect that it will help me figure out what I’m interested in and what I’m not interested in.

Learning by experience beats all, I guess.

It’s annoying to be going through all these introductory courses again since a lot of other courses I took a few years back overlap with these courses. That’s why I think I made a mistake freshman year. Instead of deciding my major immediately (which was English and Secondary Education), I should have played the field and tried to find what else I was good at. Maybe then I wouldn’t have wasted time jumping from major to major.

 Let that be a lesson to prospective students reading this blog–explore the variety of courses Gally has to offer before deciding what to major in.

Cheers,

Heather

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

