Reflecting…

by

Hi there!

It’s currently the end of finals week here at Gallaudet University, so that means a lot of students are heading home. I’m heading back home to Minnesota, where there is actually still snow. It will be quite a change from the 80 degree weather we’re having in DC.

I think I mentioned in a previous post that this semester has been the best and worst semester for me so far. It was the worst semester because my dog died, and I was not able to go home before he was put to sleep. I also lost all motivation to do any homework whatsoever and had some serious doubts about my major. But I’ve also enjoyed this semester. I’ve made so many new friends, I’ve participated in so many new experiences, and I had fun, lots of fun, and I figure that is important.

I was previously double majoring in English and Secondary Education, as you see in my brief biography on the gblog home page next to a ridiculously old picture of me. But as I got immersed into the world of Secondary Education, I realized it was not really what I wanted to do. I just did not have the passion for teaching as so many of my Secondary Education classmates did. I have a lot more passion for writing and literature and I decided to roll with it. I’d rather be happy with my major even though the job prospects might not be very good, than to be utterly bored with my major even though there are excellent job prospects, as is the case with teaching. So, I dropped my Secondary Education major, I’m still majoring in English and next semester will add Communication Studies as a second major, possibly photography as a minor.

This means I will be graduating late, of course, but that doesn’t really bother me. There are so many opportunities here that I haven’t taken advantage of, so I’m definitely not ready to graduate in May 2011, as I was supposed to.

I’ve seen this happen to a lot of my friends, who are called “old farts” because they’ve been here for six years, bouncing from major to major, trying to figure out what it is they want to do in life. It’s a hard decision, and I don’t blame them one bit. While it is great to go to college immediately after high school, it doesn’t really help if you have no idea what career you are interested in. So my one piece of advice to you, dear readers, is to gain experience in the fields you think you might be interested in, so you’ll have a better sense of what you like and what you don’t like about that field, which will make choosing a major easier.

So, have a great summer! Good luck with everything, and remember, I’m always here if you’ve got a question, I will also try to update this blog  a few times throughout the summer.

Cheers,

Heather

Leave a Reply

