How to be a Successful Student-Athlete

by

Being a student-athlete is harder than most people think. There is much dedication and sacrificed time to be one. As a football player here at Gallaudet, my schedule usually consists of classes in the morning, lunch, football meetings, football practice, dinner, and then homework. If i ever get lucky and don’t have homework, I get a few hours of free time with friends before heading off to bed getting ready for the next day. This is probably just me but I normally try avoiding parties on weekends during football season just because i don’t want to accidently mess up anything that I have going for me. Some players drink and party on weekends during the season but i don’t.

Being a student-athlete has it’s pros and cons. The pros are getting to experience an NCAA sport which has been my dream growing up. Getting to become friends with some great guys that love the same thing I do. The last pro is that football here provides practice for me for when i become a football coach one day. The cons are that you have to sacrifice a lot of time and effort and give up free time as well as study time. There really isn’t any other con to playing sports and being a student at the same time. It’s a great experience that I’m enjoying so much and i’m looking forward to for the next 3 years.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

