TEA Anyone?

by

“Our government is in hot water. People are steamed and a revolution is brewing!”

Yesterday, I went to a local tea Party on the town square. It was great to see so many people turn out for the event. For me, I have been unhappy with the way our government has been run for many years (and even more so the past couple of years when I started getting involved in politics).

Like I have mentioned before, I am a Conservative, an Independent–not a Republican. To me, there is something wrong with a nation that only supports a two-party system. Not everyone is far-left or far-right. There are people in the middle, too. Are those people ever represented? No. They never have the chance to be.

A person no longer wins an election based on his/her background, expertise, wisdom, integrity, or knowledge of the Constitution. They win because he/she has the most money. They win because they stifle the media from representing their counterparts. They win because they have cheated their way to the top. They win because people have to vote against who they DON’T WANT in office instead of getting to vote for who they WANT in office.

This is wrong.

This needs to stop.

But how? I feel like some minuscule, obscure student–one in a billion–who is helpless and unable to make any difference. Yes, I can vote. I can blog. I can tell my friends about the injustices in the world. There are just not enough people like me who are fed up with the Feds to do anything about it—until now.

I really hope these nation-wide Tea Parties are successful. I hope that politicians are convicted of their wrong-doings, their abusiveness, their callousness, their apathy. I hope that an internal revolution takes place that makes our Country a more fair, free-enterprise, safe, less dependent, healthier, Constitutional Republic. I hope that my hopes don’t dissipate in the apathetic society I live in today.

The reason I support the Tea Parties is because I am disgusted with all the careless, frivilous spending in Washington. I understand that in the short-term, I am going to get tax cuts and breaks. But later, taxes will rise–they will have to in order to support so much spending. I will feel as though I cannot become a successful individual because if I make over a certain amount, I will have to pay more taxes.

As a result, there will be more dissension, more distance between the wealthy and the poor. Successful people will hate the less fortunate for getting off with paying less taxes and the poor will hate the rich for taking advantage of them. Class warfare will become worse.

I do not want the government to treat me differently than the wealthy just because I am in the middle-class. I do not want the government to take care of me. I want the government to protect me and protect my beloved Country–that is all. I want everyone to pay the same taxes–rich and poor. To me, the most logical thing would be to have everyone pay 2%, 3%, or even 4% in taxes. Even more logical, I think that taxes should only be levied on things bought, not on what a person earns. Want a house? Pay taxes. Want a new car? Pay taxes. Earn a million dollars by inventing some new gadget? Keep it; spend it; save it; invest it.

The government has no business taking my money (through taxes) and then giving it back to me (through a “stimulus check”). Let me keep it. Let me spend my money. I earned it. I should be able to spend it how I want and how I need. It makes no sense for me to like giving the government a $10 bill and then getting only a portion of it back. It is just like those unfortunate kids who trade their dime for a nickle because they think it is worth more because of the nickle’s larger size.

The government has no business taking some successful person’s money (the money earned by someone who followed the American Dream) and then giving it to people on welfare–to people who sit on their lazy bums all day and don’t want to work. OK, you say “well, what about those on welfare who can’t work or who have lost their job?” I say, let the community take care of it. Sure, it isn’t the easiest thing to ask a friend for help. But it is SO MUCH BETTER to ask a friend for help and return the favor when times get tough for the friend then to ask the government to do something that they were never entitled to do in the first place and be indebted to them for life. That is not the American Dream.

The American Dream is founded on the freedom to do whatever your heart desires. If you want to be a successful businessman, do it! If you want to be the best teacher in all 50 states, do it! The American Dream does not stand for higher taxes–a punishment for doing well and dreaming big. It is an unlimited, no-barrier success continuum that every American has the right to pursue.

That is what the Tea Parties are about. That is why I went out in support for them. That is why I want them to succeed.

So for any of you who are tired of the way our government is run, for those of you who want to pursue the American Dream, for anyone wishing to see a change in the way taxes are levied and the government is run, stand with me. Vote for politicians who stand for these founding principles of our Nation. Sign petitions and call your Senators and Congresspeople to advocate for what is right. And most of all, pray that our United Sates of America changes for the better.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

