“Urinetown” and the Gallaudet Dance Company

by

Gally’s always got something going on, plays, musicals, dance performances, workshops… you name it, we got it. Most of them are free for Gallaudet students too, a wonderful plus for most of us broke college students.

So last week, my roommate and I watched the Gallaudet Dance Company’s spring show. Admission was free, which made me happy, and I had nothing better to do on a Saturday night anyway… I know, I’m pathetic. Anyhoo, let me give out a huge round of applause for the people involved with this performance, it was enjoyable and simply fantastic. I especially loved the part where a bunch of kids climbed up on stage and performed a hip-hop number, so cute! Some dances were adapted to ASL with performers signing the lyrics, like Rihanna’s “Disturbia,” which was converted to dance that presented the issue of deaf people not being allowed to sign. I walked away feeling as if that was the best way to spend an hour and a half.

Then, last Friday, my roommate and I went to see Gally’s production of “Urinetown” a funny and engaging play that also bears a lot of similarities to the world we live in today. I’m not going to go into a whole synopsis but simply say that it was about water shortage and the increasing cost of peeing. The idea of actually having to pay to pee is funny, but as the play went on, it got more serious and not so unrealistic. Two thumbs up from this blogger!

I’d like to encourage everyone to go see every performance Gally has to offer, they thrive on our support! Most are free, so if they really suck, at least you didn’t shell out ten bucks and you’ll only have wasted a few hours.

Cheers,
Heather

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

