Gallaudet University is the Place to Be!

by

As promised, here are a couple of things that make Gallaudet University the most amazing place to be.

Before I get into this, I got to take a brief stroll down memory lane. I first came to Gally in the spring of 2005 when I was a high school sophomore for a college visit with some other classmates. When I first arrived, Gally scared me and I told myself I would avoid it at all costs. But here I am… four years later, a second year student at Gally. And I gotta tell you… I’m so glad I didn’t listen to myself four years ago.

Reasons Why Gallaudet University Is the Place to Be:

1. Feels like home: Being a small university and the community within it even smaller, Gally feels like home. I never have to worry about knowing nobody and feeling all alone, you’re never alone here. Whether you’ve got actual family and family friends here or know absolutely no one on arrival, Gally grows on you and you become a part of a close-knit family. It’s hard to put this into words, but I never felt so attached to a school compared to my years in high school.

2. Accessibility!: Seeing as how I’ve been mainstreamed for most of my life, my eyes just couldn’t take an interpreter for another four years of school. Most of Gally’s professors are deaf or have great signing ability, which made learning so much easier for me, especially in math, my worst subject. Best of all, I never feel like the only freak in the class with an interpreter… I blend in. Also, the newest building on campus, the Sorenson Language and Communication Center (SLCC) is the only building to be completely designed for deaf users… imagine hallways and classrooms specifically engineered for deaf users-at Gally, that’s a reality.

3. Center of the Deaf World: I’m from a dinky little farming town in Minnesota and never got too many opportunities to really socialize within the deaf world, apart from the typical deaf club meetings, mainly because nothing ever happens in a little town. But at Gallaudet, it almost seems like the deaf world’s “headquarters” are here… I’ve been able to see Bernard Bragg and participate in so many experiences that really broadened my mind to the deaf world, which I thought I would never have been able to do. Another advantage of being in the center of the deaf world means that you’re understood, and no longer labeled “disabled” like I am back home.

4. You’ll live only a couple blocks away from Barack Obama! Yeah!

There’s so much more that makes Gally a great place to be, and if you’ve got a certain question… I’d be happy to answer it.

Cheers,
Heather

One Response to “Gallaudet University is the Place to Be!”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Hi,

    I’m a high school senior, and I just received a full 4-year scholarship to Gallaudet. Before I got this scholarship, I didn’t want to go. But it is certainly appealing… not to have to pay off loans when I graduate. But I’m concerned about the quality of education at Gallaudet. Is the honors program good or is it just a joke? What year are you at Gallaudet? Do you feel like this school is going to prepare you for the real world? I’d like to talk to you more about Gallaudet, if that’s possible?

Leave a Reply

