Good News

by

I do not remember if I mentioned that I was changing my major. I am. Last semester I had a reality check–there was no possible way that I was going to major in ASL as I had first planned. However, I did not want to transfer and I still wanted to improve my ASL skills, so I decided to change my major to a self-directed one in Linguistics.

It takes a lot of work to self-direct a major. Foolishly, I waited until Finals week of last semester to begin this process. In addition to finals, I had to meet with my Academic Adviser, the Self-Directed Adviser, the Linguistics Adviser, and make several trips to other departments as well. Despite all this last-minute rush, my plan was approved.

That was good news for me since I had no alternative “Plan B” waiting to take Plan A’s place.

I discussed my course options with my advisers and they mentioned that I could take a few classes at other universities that were a part of the DC Consortium in order to satisfy my requirements for graduation. I thought I had plenty of time to enroll in these courses. I was wrong.

Luckily, a few days after I arrived home from school, I checked my email one afternoon and read a Daily Digest from Gallaudet. It said that today was the deadline to apply for Consortium courses. I had no idea what I wanted to take or where I wanted to take it, so I immediately put away everything else I was doing and began looking through the Consortium schools to find classes that would work for me.

I started with the universities closest to Gallaudet or those that were easily accessible by Metro. However, none of these ten schools offered courses in Linguistics. My last option and the last school remaining was Georgetown University. I clicked on their website with my eyes half-closed in a grimace, partially hoping that they offered classes and also wishing that they did not.

The reason that I did not want to go to Georgetown was not that I did not like the school. In fact, it is a major and elite university. What I did not want was the commute that would accompany it. Georgetown is on the opposite side of town from Gallaudet and is nowhere near a Metro stop (thanks to those in Georgetown who prefer “less homeless” to accessibility).

I opened my eyes though to find that Georgetown had an overwhelming array of Linguistics courses available. I clicked through the ones that seemed the most interesting and applicable and found two that I really liked. By this time though, it was after five and I had missed the deadline.

Holding out a flickering candle of hope, I emailed a few people the courses I wanted to take through Consortium. I must take a moment here to applaud Gallaudet staff because, though I had missed the deadline, they worked like crazy to process my request, get the necessary signatures that I needed, and send off my information to Georgetown University.

My classes were approved.

I was excited about this, of course, because, as things were going, I would be able to graduate on time. However, in order to take classes at Georgetown, I had to give up my last two weeks of winter break and fly into DC early. This did not bode well, but all has worked out well thus far.

The commute remains an issue for me since it takes over an hour to get there and over an hour to come home. Hopefully, the commute time will shorten a little when all the inauguration hype has died down and people return home.

At any rate, I just wanted to announce the good news. Thought you should know!

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Good News”

  1. meredith Says:

    Great post Casey, I love the way you wrote it! Interestingly, most people in Georgetown wish they did have metro now. You’re exactly right about the original reason for not building it there, but most merchants in Georgetown today say they would like to have metro now. I think residents probably feel the same but I’m not sure.

  2. Casey Says:

    Thank you! Yeah, I am sure that they probably wish they had a metro stop now because not having one has not really prevented homeless people from going there. There may not be AS MANY homeless people in Georgetown as Union Station, for example, but they’re still there.

  3. shirley vigil Says:

    really liked your blog. i think high school students who are thinking of going out of state to college should read entries like yours. gives them some insight into their options….taking needed credit courses at different colleges…is an excellent idea that small town kids would not have thought of. as a parent of an out of stater, whatever gets the job done is what i tell mine. interact with others to get ideas. good luck

  4. Casey Says:

    Thank you! Taking consortium courses is a great way to supplement existing degrees, get a more well-rounded education, or to do as I did and self-direct a major in something not offered. As far as I can tell, most, if not all, colleges and universities offer consortium classes or, at least, they are willing to work with students as much as possible to get them the classes they need. Consortiums and self-directed majors are usually not well advertised by universities, so you usually have to ask around but it is well worth it. Best of luck to you and your family! I hope that your out-of-stater is having a great college experience and that you do not feel too anxious with him or her being so far away from home.

    God bless,
    Casey

Leave a Reply

