The West Wing

by

I am so excited! I finally had the opportunity to see the West Wing of the White House this semester. Many thanks go to my friend for making it happen!

The first time I went at the beginning of this semester, it turned out to be the epitome of a perfect day. It was slightly cool, the sun was shining brightly, and the sky was a cloudless, gentle blue. I went with several friends from home who were here visiting DC. We got a tour of the East Wing first and then we got a tour of the West Wing.

I have been on the East Wing tour several times already, but it never gets old seeing the bold elegance displayed in the architecture and interior decorating that permeate every detail of the East Wing.

This was my first time, however, to see the West Wing–the Oval Office, Rose Garden, Press Briefing Room, South Lawn (from the inside), and so many other neat things.

So here, I will share some pictures from that first time in the West Wing. The second time I saw the West Wing, I chose not to take pictures because I was completely drenched from head to toe. I am not kidding. My clothes were dripping and my feet were practically swimming in my dress shoes. Oh well, it was quite nice getting a better view of the Oval Office the second time around and getting to see my friend’s family again, making the trek through the pouring rain from the Metro stop to the White House well worth it.

Me in front of the White House
Me in front of the White House
The West Wing (Front Entrance)

The West Wing (Front Entrance)

Me in the Rose Garden

Me in the Rose Garden

The Rose Garden was much smaller than I expected, but it was beautiful nonetheless.
The Outside of the West Wing, looking from the Rose Garden

The Outside of the West Wing, looking from the Rose Garden

The Press Briefing Room

The Press Briefing Room

 After the White House tours, my friend took us to see his old office where he worked last year and to look around in the Eisenhower Office Building next door to the White House. Here are a few pictures from there:

img_29972

This was President Nixon’s office during his Presidency. He did not like working out of the Oval Office, so he moved his office here. This is also where the Watergate scandal took place.

Alice in Wonderland Staircase
Alice in Wonderland Staircase

I thought these stairs were interesting. They reminded me of something you would see in “Alice in Wonderland.” These were also in the EOB.

Well, I hope you enjoyed the mini tour! I wish I could post pictures of the Oval Office, but cameras are not allowed in that part of the West Wing. You can see photos of it on the White House website though. I think Mrs. Laura Bush did a great job decorating and picking out colors 🙂

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

