Special Olympics

by

My roommate, a recreational therapist major, invited me to join her on an extra-credit field trip to the Special Olympics. I thought, “Sure, why not?” and took her up on her offer. Now, I know that the Special Olympics aren’t the first thing someone thinks of as ‘fun’, but it was something I had never experienced, and I’d love to cross that experience off my list.

So, last Saturday, a bus picked my roomie and I and a few other people and took us to Mount St. Mary’s University in Emmitsburg, Maryland. It was about an hour and a half drive, but very scenic, it made me miss home, seeing all the cows and farmland.

Upon arrival, we were told that there were four events going on: soccer and track were outside while power-lifting and tennis were inside. It was a bit chilly outside so my roomie and I chose to stay in the gym and watch the power-lifting event. It turned out to be fascinating, there were a few teams, all competing by bench pressing various weights. I saw some amazing feats, like a 120 pound man bench pressing 180 pounds! I also saw a man bench pressing 340 pounds! I did get pictures of a few people, but they turn out really crappy on here. 

Later on, it started pouring outside, so we stayed inside, shivering, and eventually moved over to the tennis area, which was interesting also. All in all, it was a pretty cool day, I got to see a lot of things I had never seen before and I got to meet new people who brought a new perspective on life. I highly encourage everyone to do the same thing if the opportunity ever arises.

Cheers,

Heather

Tags:

Leave a Reply

