You Know You’re From Minnesota When…

by

The most annoying thing happened to me last week. My dorm turned on the heat. 

When this happened last year, I was pretty shocked. 55 degrees and you gotta turn the heat on? Then I realized that people in DC are babies and can’t take a little cold. Ok, this might be deemed a little offensive by some, but I assure you, I’m not trying to offend. I’m just stating how proud I am to be from Minnesota.

Minnesota’s got long harsh winters and pretty short summers. So most of us build up an immunity to the cold, we’re just simply used to it. In fact, I remember playing basketball outside with my family when it was -10 degrees. When I moved to DC, I couldn’t stand (I still can’t) the long summers! Last week it was 80! In October! That isn’t normal in Minnesota terms.

So now that it is finally cooling down, I got excited. But that quickly faded one day when I walked into my dorm room and was BLASTED with heat! Wouldn’t Gallaudet save money if they allowed students to choose the type of temperature they wanted? The only option you got now is to turn the heat on, turn it down, or turn it off. There’s no cool air! As I stated before, it is cooling down, so fortunately, I haven’t had long, hot, sleepless nights. But I am uncomfortable, and for me, that’s enough reason to complain.

I always get a kick out of “You Know You’re From Minnesota When..” lists, so I’ve put together a list of my favorite facts that apply to me and maybe even you!

 

You know you’re from Minnesota when…

You call highways ‘freeways’.

You have gone trick-o-treating in 3 feet of snow.

You’ve not only walked across a lake, you’ve driven across one.

You laugh every time you hear about a blizzard shutting down the entire East coast. 

You feel warm and toasty at-12 degrees.

You think that deer season is a national holiday.

“Down south” to you means Iowa.

 

Cheers,

Heather

Tags:

4 Responses to “You Know You’re From Minnesota When…”

  1. Kelly Says:

    I’m from Chicago so I find it amusing people are freezing cold at 55. Once you get used to it, it’s not that cold. I find it funny when people complain about how cold it is during the winter here and it’s like 50 degrees at the time. O_O

  2. heatherbreitbach23 Says:

    Yes, exactly! I love seeing everyone bundled up for a 50 degree day while I’m still wearing flip-flops.

  3. Sarah Says:

    50 degrees is freezing man!!!! I have to wear a sweater when it’s 75. People are crazy!

  4. Danielle Says:

    Gah, people turning the heat on at 55?! Crazy man! My god, 55 is a blessing! It’s 79 here today and I’m cowering inside cause it’s freakin hot out.

Leave a Reply

