Chick Flicks and So-Called Scary Movies

by

One of the pros of attending Gallaudet University are the free movies Campus Activities (CA) shows every weekend (except holidays). Well, I’m sure there are bigger pros than this, but you gotta admit, who doesn’t like a free movie? 

Every Friday and Saturday night, CA shows two recently released DVDs in the SAC Multimedia room (the room with the big computer screen). One movie is shown at 8:30 pm, then the other is shown at 10:30 pm, then on the next day, they reverse the order. Best of all, it’s free. I can’t say that enough, it’s FREE!

Anyway my roomie and I went to see “Sex and the City” and “Prom Night” last weekend. Before I go any further, I should probably mention that I’m a movie freak, I will watch any movie, no matter how bad it looks, just so I can get the satisfaction of analyzing and reviewing it.

Back to “Sex and the City”, I’ve seen the show and I absolutely hate it, I don’t understand why anyone would want to watch four women obsessed with meager things such as fashion and men continuously discuss fashion and men. Do I sound repetitive here? Good, because that basically summarizes “Sex and the City” (the show). Repetitive and boring.

But, surprisingly I actually enjoyed the movie, it was funnier than I thought it would be, but not without major cheesiness, and it went on way too long. 2 hours and 15 minutes for a chick flick? What is the world coming to?!

“Prom Night” on the other hand… well, let’s just say I didn’t know whether to laugh or scream (at its lameness). The movie was so unbelievably pathetic, five minutes in, and you could probably tell how the rest of the movie was going to go. It was highly unoriginal, and not at all scary. But perhaps I’ve built up an immunity to scary movies, I did laugh throughout “The Shining”, does that make me weird?

How about you? Do you like chick flicks or scary movies?

Cheers,

Heather

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

