No Fear

by

“For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, of love, and of self-discipline.” 2 Timothy 1:7, NIV

I am playing soccer this year for Gallaudet. I have played soccer almost all my life–from first grade until I was a junior in high school–and now I am playing college ball for the first time. All this said, I have played every position on the field (except goalie) at some point or other during my life. Its kinda funny….I started playing forward in first grade and slowly made my way back to sweeper by my junior year. Now, I am working my way back up the field and playing outside midfield. 

Because of playing all these positions, I have experienced playing both offense and defense and being a midfielder now means that I must play both offensively and defensively. I have noticed something about the way I play my position. Perhaps I do this because I am slightly injured, but maybe not. I have noticed that I tend to play more defense than offense.

My point? Because I play defensively, I never take risks. I play in a way that reflects the saying “better safe than sorry.” I do not play to win; I play not to lose.

I think this kind of negative thinking carries over to my spiritual life, too. Instead of having faith like Jonathan and proclaiming, “Perhaps the Lord will act in our behalf. Nothing can hinder the Lord from saving, whether by many or by few” (1 Samuel 14:6, NIV), I say, “Perhaps the Lord will NOT act in our behalf. If He doesn’t, then what will we do? Let’s play it safe.”

I take the spiritual defense, not offense. I do not take risks. I do not overcome my fears or insecurities and take the offensive. For example, perhaps I see someone in need, but, because I am shy around people I do not know, I do not help that person. That is me not taking the offensive. That is me committing a sin of omission (as opposed to commission). That is me not trusting what God can do.

Take Jonathan as an example. He comes up with the worst military strategy ever invented by man and then says, “Perhaps the Lord will act in our behalf.” His strategy is this: let’s (meaning Jonathan and his armor-bearer) climb up a cliff in broad daylight to where our enemy is waiting, expose ourselves to them, wait for them to say they want us to come to them so they can kill us, and then we will walk up to them and defeat them (1 Samuel 13:23-14:23 whole story). With God’s help, they did defeat the Philistine army despite this horrendous plan.

If only I had so much courage.

After coming to this realization in church this morning, I hope that I will learn how to play offense in both my spiritual life and in my life of soccer. Perhaps, by applying this positive thinking to my soccer strategy, I can more easily see the correlation with my spiritual walk and apply it to that as well.

Mark Batterson, the pastor at NCC who I got this message from, talked about how, oftentimes, we think of the Christian life as boring and dull. That is because we play defense all the time. However, if we play offensively, life is going to turn into one major adventure. We will face more and more difficult challenges over time and we will experience the Christian life in a whole new way.

In the words of Steven Curtis Chapman:

Chorus: “Saddle up your horses! We’ve got a trail to blaze. Through the wild blue yonder of God’s amazing grace. Let’s follow our leader into the glorious unknown. This is a life like no other–this is the Great Adventure!

“Started out this morning in the usual way, chasing thoughts inside my head of all I had to do today. Another time around the circle, try to make it better than the last.

“I opened up the Bible, and I read about me. Said I’d been a prisoner and God’s grace had set me free. And somewhere between the pages, it hit me like a lightning bolt. I saw a big frontier in front of me, and I heard somebody say, ‘let’s go!’

Chorus

“Come on and get read for the ride of your life. Gonna leave long-faced religion in a cloud of dust behind. And discover all the new horizons just waiting to be explored. This is what we were created for!

Chorus

“We’ll travel over, over mountains so high. We’ll go through valleys below. Still, through it all, we’ll find that this is the greatest journey that the human heart will ever see. The love of God will take us far beyond our wildest dreams!”

-“The Great Adventure” lyrics by Steven Curtis Chapman

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “No Fear”

  1. Meera Says:

    I am so proud of you. You’re a strong person. It seem like God grace over you while you on the soccer team and student.

  2. Casey Says:

    Thank you, Meera. You are so sweet! Thank you for always being such an encouragement to me and for being such a great friend.

    Blessings to you,
    Casey

Leave a Reply

