Small Worlds, the Holocaust Museum, and Dogs.

by

 I’m from a 3,000 population town called Melrose in Minnesota. It mostly consists of dairy farms, turkey farms, and… nope that’s it. I grew up knowing everyone, and everyone knew my family, which has its pros… and cons. So when I came to Gally in the fall of 2007, I expected to get a fresh start and escape my last name for once!

I’ve since learned that it is a small world, no matter where you go. Take yesterday for example. My roommate and I decided to go to the Holocaust Museum, so we hopped aboard the Gally shuttle and were on our way to Union Station when a middle-aged man tapped me on the shoulder and signed “You from Minnesota?”. I was wearing my Minnesota Twins baseball t-shirt (Go Twins!), and he automatically recognized it. He proceeded to ask me my last name and when I responded “Breitbach”, his eyes lit up in recognition. I told him my father’s name and apparently this guy used to play around with my father in high school. I was in utter disbelief! This guy knew everything about my family, and he was from California, visiting Gally!

Anyhoo, my visit to the Holocaust Museum was amazing, I had been there once before, but it never ceases to amaze me. If you haven’t been there, GO! It is free, and easy to get to (Smithsonian stop on Metro). My favorite and most heart-breaking part of their exhibit is the room full of shoes… to know that the people who once wore those shoes died in the most gruesome ways sears the soul.

Forgive me if I’m jumping from subject to subject here, but that’s the way my mind works. 

I thought I’d end this blog with a few words and pictures about my lovely dogs back home!

 

 

 

  To the left is Diamond, she’s three years old and a standard poodle. Some of her annoying habits include jumping on my lap and burping  in my face.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  To the left here is my other dog, Bingo, he’s 11 years old and a miniature poodle. I’ve had him since I was 8 or 7, and love him dearly. 

 

That’s all folks!

Cheers,

Heather

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Small Worlds, the Holocaust Museum, and Dogs.”

  1. clarakathleen7 Says:

    Awww! I now miss my two Siamese cats: Mochia and Cochia. At least you’re gonna fly out for your grandmother’s birthday and I’m sure that you’ll see your dogs 🙂

  2. Heather Says:

    Aw, I love their names.

    Yep, I’m so happy I’m going to be able to see them soon!

Leave a Reply

