An Anticlimatic Beginning to a Climatic Semester

by

While everyone yesterday asked each other, “How is your first day of class?” and everyone responded back, “So far, so good,” I was having to answer, “I haven’t had my first day of school yet because I only have Tuesday and Thursday classes.” The result: those who had so kindly and boldly asked about my first day would mumble, “Oh,” their beaming faces turning downcast, and then they would turn around and walk away defeated. I was becoming depressed simply by watching their reactions to my perfectly honest and kind reply. I almost wanted to lie and say, “My first day of school has been great!” but I could not bring myself to do it.

One of the assistant soccer coaches asked me the same question, and I gave the same reply as I had given everyone else. Instead of looking defeated because of my answer, she looked at me and said, “So the first day of school is kind of an anti-climatic event for you, huh?”

She was right. I had not thought of it that way, but she said it perfectly. Everyone was talking about the first day of school, and I could not because I had not experienced it yet. My friends were already talking about their first classes, their first teachers, and their first homework assignments, and all I could say was, “I haven’t had my first day of school yet because I only have Tuesday and Thursday classes.” No wonder everyone was looking so downcast at my reply! What an anti-climatic beginning to a climatic semester!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

