Decisions, Decisions…

by

I have an important decision to make. You see, I usually explore my options first, then I make a decision, and then, I stick with whatever decision I made. However, this time, things are different. I started out on the right foot–I contemplated every avenue available to me and considered every option until all my brain cells died (well, maybe not ALL of them). Then, I made a decision–a BIG decision. I even followed through with it. Now, I am back at square one: exploring my options.

Perhaps you are wondering what I am talking about–let me explain. Several years ago, when I was a freshman in junior college, I began searching for (or experimenting with) my major. At first, I did not have any idea what I wanted to do and then by the time I enrolled in ASL III, I decided to pursue a degree in interpreting. I liked it, don’t get me wrong, but it just was not the career for me. However, I stuck it out and finished the ITP at TJC and graduated Magna Cum Laude with a Sign Language Interpreting degree with High Honors.

During the time between ASL III and my second time to “take” ASL IV (I audited the class again since I enjoyed it so much the first time), I decided that I would go to Gallaudet and pursue a degree in ASL. Having completed steps 1 and 2 of my 3-step decision-making process, I believed that I would graduate from Gallaudet with a degree in ASL. Now, I am having second thoughts–or finally giving Reality some room to set in–I do not know which.

Here is my delimna: with the ASL degree, I have to pass the ASLPI with a 4+ level before I can continue being processed into the ASL major. The first time I took the exam, I got a level 3, which was not bad and reflected where I felt my skills were. BUT, the second time I took the test, just a few months ago, I got a level 2. Do not ask me why because I do not know. My skills are not the best (I probably should have gotten another level 3), but they are not on a “survivor” level either. I almost disputed my grade, but decided that I would just take the ASLPI again in the fall to see if my skills improved by then.

At any rate, if I cannot get a 4+ on the ASLPI, then I am toast…a goner…a college drop out…however you want to put it. OR…I can change my major. Here is my idea: if I cannot pass the test, I will change my major to a self-directed one. I should be able to still take ASL classes, just like I want, AND I can take classes in my new-found love, linguistics. In this way, I can still get the same education I want and graduate on time without *crossing my fingers* having to take the ASLPI. If you are reading this right now and you are a praying person, I could sure use some prayers about this!

So, this is the decision I must make. Oh, decisions, decisions…

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Decisions, Decisions…”

  1. Dan Says:

    Heya, i was wondering if you would like to discuss this some more with me, because i too am wondering what direction i would like to go, IE: Teaching or Interpreting, or something completely different.

    If you would like to discuss, which i hope you do because i have a few questions that i think you would be able to help me with…. My email is

    Segersde@uwec.edu

    Currently i am a sophmore at University Wisconsin Eau Claire

    Thanks,

    Sincerely

    Confused at what to do

    Dan

  2. Casey Says:

    Hi, Dan!

    Sure, I would love to answer any questions you may have. Please let me know if you do not receive my email. Best of luck and God bless!

    Casey

  3. no Says:

    I don’t know of any hearing people who have gotten above 3+ on the aslpi, including codas. Several deaf, native asl signers I know have gotten 4s. I think it will be very difficult to get 4+ if you are not a native deaf signer. To get a 5 you usually need deaf parents. Linguistics, interpreting or teaching could all be good other options and give you the same work opportunites after graduation and still you will get asl classes.

Leave a Reply

