My Last Day

by

For my last day in DC before heading home for the summer, I decided to spend the entire day sightseeing one last time. It was amazing. I wanted to do some new and old things around the city, so my first stop was a new place for me–the National Aquarium. It cost $5 to get in and was smaller than I expected, but not any less fascinating. I had never seen live sea horses, so that was one of my favorite things at the aquarium. There were also a bunch of other kinds of fish, snakes, frogs, sharks, aligators, and turtles. Isn’t God’s creation beautiful?

 

I then walked from the National Aquarium down the National Mall to the Library of Congress. It was not my first time to go to the Library, but this time I did not feel rushed and could take my time, marveling at the architectural beauty of the place. If you have ever been there before, you know that the walls and ceilings are covered with famous peoples’ names, famous quotes, and such. I found some interesting ones, including Gallaudet’s name and several quotes including: “Science is organized knowledge,” “Beauty is truth. Truth beauty,” “There is but one temple in the universe and that is the body of man,” “nature is the art of God,” “The Light shineth in darkness and the darkness comprehendeth it not,” “One God. One law. One element. And one far-off divine event to which the whole creation moves,” and “knowledge comes, but wisdom lingers.” Some people say that our founding fathers did not establish our country on Biblical principals, but I must disagree. Anyways, I also saw Thomas Jefferson’s library, which was his library with all of his books categorized exactly as he had them. It was neat!

 

After the Library of Congress, I decided to visit the monuments and my favorite haunting ground, the WWI memorial, one last time before I headed back to campus. It was a gorgeous day, and I am thankful for the opportunity to have gone out into the city one final time, but boy, did I feel it the next morning! I was exhausted and sore and had to wake up at 5:30 am to head home. It was worth it though!

El fin!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “My Last Day”

  1. Being a HUG at Gallaudet: Activities and Places to Eat « gBlog - how we see it… Says:

    […] on other things to do in DC: https://gallaudetblog.wordpress.com/2008/04/13/what-to-do/ and https://gallaudetblog.wordpress.com/2008/06/01/my-last-day/ for information about sightseeing, and […]

Leave a Reply

