A Change of Plans

by

Before, I said that my summer plans were to study for the ASLPI, get in shape for soccer, and teach an ASL class at a private school. Well, plans change, and I suppose God has a purpose for the change in my summer plans. I should have know though, you see, because James says, “Now listen, you who say, ‘Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money.’ Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes. Instead, you ought to say, ‘If it is the Lord’s will, we will live and do this or that’” (James 4:13-15, NIV).

Instead of trusting God with my future and asking Him what He wanted me to do for the summer, I trusted in myself and in the four-page application I sent to the private school. Well, you can guess what happened. The head of the program called me yesterday and told me that my class did not make it–it fell short of the quota by only 1 or 2 students. I was disappointed, yes. I was frustrated, of course. However, I knew it happened for a reason–a reason that I do not know of at this point. Perhaps God has something better for me to do these few short summer months that I am home. I do not know, but I do know that God knows the plans He has for me, “plans to prosper and not to harm,” plans to give “a hope and a future” (Jeremiah 29:11, NIV).

So, with this in mind, I think I will start looking for some other summer job and pray about it, asking God if it is where He wants me, BEFORE I commit. Even then, I should be careful not to trust in the mode that God provides for me, only in my Provider, who blessed me with “the mode” (i.e. job) in the first place.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

