A Day with the Cherry Blossoms

by

During the Cherry Blossom Festival, I decided to walk along the Tidal Basin and enjoy the infamous blossoms for which DC is so well-known. They were incredibly gorgeous and nothing I can say and no pictures I have taken can match their beauty. A friend put it this way, and I could not have said it better than she, “I think this is what heaven will look like.” I think she is right. I have never experienced anything so beautiful as walking beneath the canvas of those intwined and bowing branches covered in perfect pink and white blossoms. Some of the petals fell like rain around me, adding to the beauty of the experience.

Here are some of the blossoms up close!

I did a little photo shop work on this picture, but I thought the cherry blossoms looked incredible in black and white.

I walked all the way around the Tidal Basin to the Jefferson Memorial and FDR Memorial, enjoying the flowers.

Here, the cherry blossoms gleam in the afternoon sunshine.

This is me and the cherry blossoms with the Jefforson Memorial peeking out of the corner of the picture.

Now, imagine this: the beauty of those cherry blossoms framing the Washington Monument, completely surrounding a surreal lake. It was breathtaking!

This is what I walked under around the entire Tidal Basin.

There were throngs of people (tourists) at the Cherry Blossom Festival. Here, many of them sat on the steps of the Jefferson Memorial to rest and enjoy a little musical entertainment.

Here is the man himself–Thomas Jefferson. 

The FDR memorial was quite interesting. There were many statues, fountains, and engraved quotes on vine-covered walls. I liked this statue of FDR and his dog. Isn’t the dog cute? At any rate, I spent the whole afternoon at the Tidal Basin and then enjoyed a fireworks display with friends that night. It was spectacular! I hope all of you come to see the cherry blossoms next spring! I guarantee that you will not be disapointed!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “A Day with the Cherry Blossoms”

  1. Tiandra Says:

    aawww those pix was soo beautiful im sooo def taking picz of em when i move to DC for gally =)

  2. Casey Says:

    Tiandra,

    Thank you! We look forward to seeing you here!

    God bless,
    Casey

  3. Being a HUG at Gallaudet: Activities and Places to Eat « gBlog - how we see it… Says:

    […] https://gallaudetblog.wordpress.com/2008/06/01/my-last-day/ for information about sightseeing, and https://gallaudetblog.wordpress.com/2008/04/27/a-day-with-the-cherry-blossoms/ for information on the Cherry Blossom Festival in the […]

Leave a Reply

