Freshmen Fifteen

by

This is my first year at Gallaudet, but I am not a freshmen. I transferred in from a tiny community college in Houston as a junior. Somehow this knowledge that I was a junior seeped into my brain and told me I was exempt from the stereotypical freshman fifteen, or the weight typically gained by first year students. I genuinely thought this didn’t apply to me. However, as it is nine months into my first year on campus I am finding my clothes to be a bit snug. All of my clothes. A bit snug is a bit of an exaggeration, my clothes don’t even come close to fitting, namely my jeans… This is rather depressing as it means that I have gained some weight. I have no idea how much, since I don’t have a scale, but enough that my jeans don’t get past my hips. Ouch.

While I am okay with the size that I am now, it is frustrating to either squeeze into a pair of pants and then be miserably uncomfortable or to have to buy all new clothes. I don’t work too much because school is pretty consuming, so a new wardrobe simply isn’t in the budget.

There is of course, a solution. Diet and exercise. Of course, these are the last resort… But, unhappy with my newfound weight, I’ve decided to try and start eating a little better and get some kind of physical activity. I’ve limited my soda intake as that is a big source of sugar and useless calories and I’ve tried to start eating more healthy foods from the cafeteria.

Today was a beautiful day, so a few friends and I threw the frisbee around in the grass. It was so much fun! We all took our shoes off and played barefoot in the grass that had been freshly mowed. The grass was damp and tall and felt really nice beneath our feet. It was a lot of fun and some good exercise as well. Hopefully if I keep this up, my freshmen fifteen will become a thing of the past.

3 Responses to “Freshmen Fifteen”

  1. meredith Says:

    Oh my god girl, you are a stick figure! Total ectomorph. Good for you for making a decision to do something about it – but you don’t really NEED to. You know that, right? You are gorgeous right now as I’m looking at you!

  2. meredith Says:

    Oh my god girl, you are a stick figure! Total ectomorph. Good for you for making a decision to do something about it – but you don’t really NEED to. You know that, right? You are gorgeous right now as I’m looking at you!

  3. colleen Says:

    Haha, Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

