Theatre Project

by

I’m doing a project for my theatre class on the play THE PLOUGH AND THE STARS.. What I am required to do is pretend if I were to direct this play targeting Deaf audiences, how would I adapt Act 2 in its entirely without sacrificing the intended impact of the “Voice of the Man” or gutting the “voice” out?

The man is UNSEEN and outside the setting of the pub:  how would you stage and/or block the juxtaposition between that Man and the characters in the pub as played by d/Deaf actors?  The challenge is difficult: you have to try figuring out how to present the UNSEEN Man without resorting to ‘magic interpreters.

I find this rather difficult, but interesting at the time. I’ve been throwing ideas with how to do this without the person being seen…

Leave a Reply

