Gallaudet’s Neighborhood

by

I was browsing the Family Watchdog website, which lets you look at a map showing where convicted sexual offenders live and work. I put in the address for Gallaudet, and I was both surprised and not surprised that there are at least a dozen living right next to campus. It surprised me a little bit because it’s not something I think about every day, but now when I park at Field House I will be just 200 feet away from them, because many live on West Virginia Avenue. And yet I was also not all that surprised. See, the area around Gallaudet is…not so nice. I always feel safe on campus but once you leave those gates, it gets a little scary. Lots of students live off campus in the blocks around the university, but I’m not sure I could do that…it just doesn’t seem like a good area.
Denizens of Tent City As you can see in this picture, there are lots of homeless people who hang out right behind the GUKCC Hotel. I took this picture while walking to my car in the parking garage at the 6th Street entrance. Notice there is a chair on the right side of the picture…there’s also some other furniture around, and in this picture you can see their own little “tent city” – it’s there 24/7/365. I don’t really know what to make of it. It’s kind of a no-man’s-land there between the Gallaudet campus and the public school’s sports field. I guess whoever owns it doesn’t mind letting people live there. It’s kind of weird.

4 Responses to “Gallaudet’s Neighborhood”

  1. guvita Says:

    seriously? I live off campus for 4 years, one block away from West Virgina.
    I had been around for long time, I felt they’re part of us, our home…

    its too sad to know its really not safe. 😦

  2. meredith Says:

    Oh I agree with you…they are part of our community, and Gallaudet is part of their community. But I don’t think it is a very safe area just in general…there are many criminals (sexual offenders) in this area.

  3. colleen Says:

    Yeah, I disagree though. I think the neighborhood is a lot safer than people give it credit for. I walk to the metro all the time, yes at night, yes by myself. Granted, I wouldn’t recommend this to someone who doesn’t have any street smarts, but I’m from a big city and I think if you keep your head up and walk with a purpose you’re fine. Its true that five years ago the neighborhood was a lot worse than it is now, but from what I’ve seen everyone seems to stick to the ‘you don’t mess with me, i won’t mess with you’ mentality.

    As for the sex offenders, find me an area that doesn’t have them…

  4. colleen Says:

    Okay, I retract my previous comment. I’ve just learned of a friend of a friend who was robbed in the neighborhood recently, and I will no longer be walking alone anywhere at night. I think you just get to feeling safe in an area and forget that DC is a dangerous town.

Leave a Reply

