Ahhh, productivity

by

Well, today was the first day back to school after spring break, and I definitely had a case of the Monday blues. I, of course had been staying up pretty late during spring break, so I had trouble getting to bed at a reasonable hour and waking up this morning was anything but fun.

Nonetheless, I had a really productive Monday. Today, I officially declared my major in Communication Studies which is pretty exciting. I had been waiting to declare because of some nonsense with the new curriculum and its compatibility with my transfer credits. For those of you who don’t know, Gallaudet adopted a new curriculum this fall, some say in response to the MSCHE’s decision to place the school on probation. All politics aside, this meant that I, as an incoming transfer student was recommended to follow this new curriculum. The only problem? It wasn’t really ready for transfer students. There has finally been some progress however, and it looks like two courses, or 8 to 12 credits of the 40 credits required for the general studies requirement will be waived since I transferred in as a junior. All of this is terribly boring I know, but it has been a stressful, and time consuming ordeal since my first day at Gallaudet. So, declaring a major was in a sense putting all of that drama behind me.

I also made an appointment with the internship coordinator for tomorrow morning to discuss possible internship sites for this summer. In order to graduate next May, I will need to take a few courses over the summer and would like to complete the internship requirement of the Communication Studies major over the summer. Hopefully the coordinator will be able to set it up for me so that this can happen.

I also got a lot of homework done today, which is good. I’d been procrastinating (as usual) and finally just got up and did some of it.

All in all, it was a good Monday, although another week of break would be nice to recover from last week 🙂

Leave a Reply

