NAD in New Orleans- here I come!

by

Yay- yet another new place for me to visit!

I was recently asked to be the chaperone for Miss Deaf Michigan, Jillian Gruetzner, and accompany her to New Orleans this summer for the NAD conference and the Miss Deaf American pageant. I was thrilled to say “yes” – I was the chaperone for Miss Deaf Michigan at the California NAD conference two years ago and it was a great experience, so how can I turn this down??

I was also fortunate to be part of the Miss Deaf Michigan and Miss Teen Deaf Michigan pageants last summer as a “behind-da-scenes” person, so I got to see what to expect from Miss Jillian in New Orleans 😀 Here are some Michigan pageant pictures from the summer of 2007:

dscf7964.jpg

img_0602.jpg

dscf7956.jpg

n502783838_99488_6669.jpg

I also posted another entry about the Miss Deaf Michigan/Miss Teen Deaf Michigan pageants last summer… but good ol’ gBlog had a glitch and it’s currently nonexistent. Bottom line – the Miss Deaf Michigan Pageant Association experienced a great boom in its activities and involvement in the Michigan Deaf community, so it’s been a wonderful experience to be part of this. You can find more info about the pageant association here: http://www.mideaf.org/MissDeafMichigan/.

I’ve known Jillian since she was a snotty lil middle-school kid so it’s been great to see her and the other girl really bloom during the pageant, as well as during her time as a Gallaudet freshman. Clearly, I’m looking forward to being part of her experience in New Orleans 😀

Leave a Reply

