Hairstyles are A-Changin’

by

Hairstyles
See that girl up there? That’s my friend Carlisle, hanging out in the Rathskellar. She is just one of the people sporting unusual hairstyles right now. There are many heads dyed bright blue, bright pink, bright green, and even multiple colors! I have seen quite a few people with mohawks and people with words or pictures shaved into their hair.

As far as I can tell, all of this is leading up to Bald Day. If you’ve never heard of this tradition, it is the time when freshmen shave their heads, whether they are boys or girls. It is not a university-sanctioned event like the Rat Funeral, and I’ve heard it described as hazing…but a lot of people seem to be doing it anyway. I’m not going to, because I tried it when I was 12 years old and it didn’t look good on me! I have other friends who aren’t just because their hair is so pretty and they don’t want to get rid of it. It takes so long to grow back, you know?

Anyway, Gallaudet is certainly an entertaining place…in one of my classes today there was a fuschia head, a teal head, and a bright blue head. It’s lots of fun to see the different ideas people come up with right now…but soon they will all be shaving everything off!

Leave a Reply

