Yay, gBlog!

by

First of all, let me say how excited I am to be writing for gBlog! Thanks to my friend and fellow blogger Colleen for helping me get started. Also, I took that picture of the Edward Miner Gallaudet statue myself…I think it came out really good!

Now, a little about myself. My name is Meredith, and I am a sophomore transfer student; I just finished my first semester here. I am hearing, just so you know! I love Gallaudet more than most of my friends do…it’s the only college I’ve ever wanted to go to and I’m thrilled to be here.

I graduated high school in 1997, and Gally didn’t have a HUG program then, so I went to Western Maryland College (aka McDaniel College) but I dropped out after one year. I worked in crappy jobs for a few years, and then I became an interpreter. I have CI/CT certification, if you’re wondering. I always wanted to go back to college, and I received a small inheritance in 2006 that made it possible for me to quit my job and come back to school.

Let me tell you, that was the scariest thing I have EVER done. I knew immediately that I wanted to go to Gallaudet, nowhere else would do. But the decision to leave behind a well-paying job that I loved and which gave me a lot of free time was a HARD one. I cried about it a lot, I made lists of pros and cons, everything. I worried about whether I would be able to do schoolwork again, whether I could make friends, whether I would be accepted as a hearing student…every possibility entered my head. In the end, I decided to do it. And here I am! It was the best decision I have ever made in my LIFE.

One special note: I am majoring in Deaf Studies. A lot of people assume that because I’m hearing, I must want to major in Interpreting. And when they hear I’m already an interpreter, then they are SURE I’m majoring in Interpreting! But I’m not. I’m majoring in Deaf Studies and minoring in History because that’s what I love. Interpreting was a great job, but it’s not what I want to do my whole life, so why would I major in it? I still work as an interpreter part-time and during holiday breaks, but my major is Deaf Studies.

I look forward to sharing my Gallaudet experiences with you!

Leave a Reply

